<u>Minutes</u>

Four-Year College Section Breakfast and Business Meeting Milwaukee, Wisconsin - October 7, 2005

The meeting was called to order by Four-Year College Section Chair, Sharolyn Belzer, at 7:35 a.m. in the Lakeshore Room of the Hyatt Regency Hotel. Dr. Belzer asked for a moment of silence so all present could reflect on the life of Dr. Charles Drewes, University Professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution, and Organismal Biology at Iowa State University. Charlie died on July 4, 2005. He was bestowed the 2002 Four-Year College Biology Teaching Award. All present were also asked to sign a card to express the sentiments of the Four-Year College Section over Charlie's loss. This card will be sent to Charlie's wife.

Fifty-five people in attendance.

I. Approval of 2004 Minutes - John Moore first; second by Donald Cronkite

II. Introductions

a. Dr. Belzer recognized and thanked sponsors of events, special sessions, and awards:

Richard Allen – Representative for BioZone and sponsor of the 'Four-Year College Section Annual Breakfast and Business Meeting.'

Clay Stone – Representative for John Wiley & Sons and sponsor of the 'Four-Year College Reception and Poster Session.'

Tamara Maury – Representative for McGraw Hill and sponsor of Pat Pendarvis' presentation (2005 invited speaker of the Four-Year College Section).

Cynthia Syverson-Mercer – Representative for Swift Optics and sponsor of the 'Four-Year College Section Poster Session Student Award.'

Beth Wilbur – Representative for Benjamin Cummings and sponsor of 'Four-Year College Outstanding Biology Teaching Award.'

Gretchen Ziegler – Representative for Leica Microsystems and sponsor of the 'Four-Year College Biology Research/Teaching Award.'

- b. Dr. Belzer asked all past chairs to stand and be recognized. First Chair (at that time deemed 'president') of Four-Year College Section, Sandra Winicur, Indiana University of South Bend, was given a special recognition for her place in the Four-Year College Section's history.
- c. Dr. Belzer introduced the 2005 officers:

Sharolynn Belzer – Chair Connie Russell – Vice-Chair Jacqueline McLaughlin – Secretary/Treasurer

d. Dr. Belzer recognized the Four-Year College Section Committee Chairs (listed below under Section III-b).

III. Awards

John Moore, Awards Committee Chair, announced the 2005 award winners: Four-Year College Biology Teaching Award – Angela R. Porta, Kean University, Union, New Jersey; Four-Year College Biology Research/Teaching Award – Nancy Elwess, Plattsburgh State University of New York, Plattsburgh, New York. He also thanked the sponsors of these awards. John then encouraged members to nominate peers for these prestigious awards.

IV. Old Business

a. **Chairs Report** – Dr. Belzer highlighted some of the important events at this year's conference: successful, first-ever, 'K-12 Outreach Mini-Conference'; 20th Anniversary

presentation by Terry Hufford wherein he spoke on the history of the Four-Year College Section, past presidents, and awards; 'Four-Year College Reception & Poster Session;' 'Getting to Know the Four-Year College Section' session; the great poster session turn out -attended by over 100 guests.

b. Committee Reports:

Pre-College Committee, Chair, Judy Day, spoke about the first 'K-12 Outreach Mini-Conference' held from 1-5 p.m. at the Monarch Ballroom, Hilton Milwaukee City Center on October 5, 2005 prior to the NABT Conference. The purpose of the Mini-Conference was to gather representatives from universities, government agencies, and informal science centers from across the U.S. to review and discuss successful K-12 outreach projects. Attendees contributed poster presentations describing their pre-college outreach efforts. It was a great success with 17 posters and over 40 in attendance. A full day is planned for next-year in Albuquerque. Judy asked for additional financial support. Presently, this event is sponsored by Vernier Software and Technology, Texas Instruments, and Wards Natural Science.

Faculty Preparation/Professional Development, Co-Chairs, Teddie Phillipson-Mower and Kelly Bohrer discussed a college teacher program (Chautauqua Short Course) for inquiry-based teaching that they ran at the University of Dayton, Ohio. Funding may continue next year by NSF. 'Inquiry-based' list-serve started and it is hoped that it will be expanded. Teddie and Kelly highlighted sessions that will be presented at the conference.

Awards Committee, Chair, John Moore, and Dr. Belzer encouraged members to nominate peers for teaching and teaching/research awards.

Convention Committee, Chair, William Kroen, thanked committee members who successfully assisted with the 'Four-Year College Reception and Poster Session." He announced the undergraduate poster winner, Mattthew Newcamp from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, whose poster was entitled, "Using Fern Marking Techniques with Genetic Analysis to Confirm with Current Literature that *Botrychium dissectum* and *Botrychium obliqumm* are Variants of a Single Species."

Publicity/Webmaster Committee, Chair, Jewel Reuter, was not in attendance. Dr. Belzer pointed out that John Moore will move forward to update the Four-Year College Section Website.

V. New Business

- a. Dr. Belzer introduced the "NABT Four-Year College Section Procedural Manual" that John Moore developed in 2004 as Chair. She also recognized Terry Hufford's historical research on the Four-Year College Section. She said that together this information has lead the Executive Committee to revisit the record keeping and committee structure/function of the Four-Year College Section.
- b. Motioned to the floor Create a new Standing Committee called the 'Pre-College Outreach Committee' whose charge is to review and disseminate best practices in K-12 outreach programs for students and teachers in the life sciences. Motioned was made, seconded. Membership passed the amendment to the bylaws.
- c. Nomination of Secretary/Treasurer for 2005 Dr. Belzer pointed out that Terry Hufford, who is stepping down as Chair of this committee, has essentially been the nominating committee because for quite awhile there have not been any other committee members. She advised that other Four-Year College members enlist to create an active and complete committee. Volunteers solicited. Jane Haldeman agreed to act as Chair in 2006.

Terry Hufford nominated Bill Rogers for 2006 Secretary/Treasurer of Four-Year College Section.

- d. Dr. Belzer pointed out the issue/problem with checking box for section affiliation when renewing NABT membership. She reminded all members to check Four-Year College section when renewing. There was a question about what to do if you are a 'life-long member.' Vice-Chair, Connie Russell said she would look into this.
- e. Dr. Belzer reminded everyone to attend the "Getting to Know the Four-Year College Section" session and to attend the "Four-Year Committee Breakfast Meeting." She stressed that members come to the latter and get involved!
- f. Dr. Belzer reminded everyone that the NABT 2006 Convention will be in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Come early for the one-day outreach conference.
- g. Terry Hufford talked about the USA Biology Olympiad and that he is recruiting members to write critical- thinking questions for this organization.
- h. Dr. Belzer introduced new Chair, Connie Russell. Dr. Russell addressed the audience and shared her devotion to NABT (10-year member). She, and John Moore, thanked Dr. Belzar for her excellent work as the 2005 Chair of the Four-Year College Section.
- VI. Adjournment -The meeting was adjourned promptly at 8:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jacqueline McLaughlin, Ph.D.
Director, CHANCE
Assistant Professor of Biology
Penn State Lehigh Valley, 8380 Mohr Lane, Fogelsville, PA 18051
Phone – 610-285-5109 Email – Jshea@psu.edu