# National Association of Biology Teachers Four-Year College and University Section Breakfast and Business Meeting, Heritage Ballroom, Memphis, Tennessee October 17, 2008

### Breakfast

- II. Section President Bill Rogers welcomed everyone to the Four-Year College and University Section Meeting at 7:40 AM. "Thank you's" were extended to Peter Marshall and Jay Phelan from W.H. Freeman for supporting the event. There were 54 people present.
- III. Bill Rogers made a motion to approve the 2008 Business Meeting Agenda; the motion was seconded and approved.
- IV. Bill Rogers made a motion to approve the 2007 Four-Year College Section Business Meeting minutes; it was seconded and approved.
- V. Bill Rogers recognized current officers, past chairs, guests and sponsors. Especially noted were:

Invited Four Year Speaker: Mary Kate Reeves-Hoche – sanofi Pasteur

Four-Year Reception and Poster Session – John Wiley and Sons (Clay Stone)

Four-Year College Section Outreach Symposium and the Student Poster Award – Vernier K-12 Software Technologies (Robyn Johnson)

Four-Year Section Annual Breakfast and Business Meeting – W.H. Freeman

Faculty Development Workshop – sanofi pasteur

Invited Four-Year College Speaker – Kelly Cowen, McGraw-Hill Higher Education (Tamara Maury)

Four-Year College/University Teaching Award – Pierson/Benjamin Cummings Publishers (NAME??? Beth Wilber)

Four-Year College Biology Research/Teaching Award – Leica Microsystems (Alan Paris)

Freeman Publishers had complimentary copies of "Scientific Teaching" for participants at the breakfast. Bill also recognizes the first-time attendees to the Section meeting, with hopes they become more involved in the future.

### VI. Old Business.

A. Chairs report. A huge thank you was given to committee members who made things work well this year. Recognition was given to Don Cronkite for the NABT Honorary Membership award and to Randy Moore for the Evolution Education Award to be presented today at noon.

## B. Committee Reports.

- 1. Awards. Jackie McLaughlin announced the award winners. Dennis Venema was awarded the Teaching award for work on producing virgin fruit flies for the classroom. Jay Jenkins from Pierson presented the award. Don French was awarded the Research/Teaching award. Alan Paris will present him with a microscope from Leica Microsystems in the future.
- 2. Convention. Bill Kroen thanked Steve Christenson, Kathy Gallucci, and Mary Kate Reeves-Hoche for being judges at last evening's Student Poster Competition. The winning poster was "Analysis of aDNA from Mayan Skeletal Remains Using the Mitochondrial Control Region" by Elizabeth Lavoie. Robyn Johnson of Vernier awarded her a prize of instrument gift certificates.

- 3. Faculty Development (or is it Professional Development??). Kim Sadler hoped all will attend today's session of twelve speakers. Jackie McLaughlin noted that the Second 2Y/4Y Teaching Symposium was embedded into this event by having keynote speaker Dr. David Dressler for a luncheon event. Kim also noted the committee working sessions tomorrow morning.
- 4. Pre-College Outreach Committee. Judy Day shared the Committee's success with the K-12 Outreach Symposium this year, its fourth year. The primary topic was authentic assessment. 43 people attended the symposium, with 11 presentations and 16 posters. Vernier and Texas Instruments again sponsored the event. NABT is considering having this group become their own section, a proposal that will be discussed in the future. Judy is stepping down as chair of the outreach program, but she hopes that everyone will support Susan Flowers who will take over and continue the good work next year.
- 5. Nominating Committee. Jan Haldeman, Chairperson, announceded that Eileen Gregory will be nominated to the position of Secretary/Treasurer for the 2008-2009 year.
- 6. Membership. Bill Rogers reported that Nick Balster will work with the national office on cleaning up membership rolls and looking to increase membership.
- 7. Publicity/Webmaster Committee. Bill R. announced that there will be a new 4Y section site when NABT gets their own site redone by an outside contractor.
- 8. Ad-Hoc Graduate Student Committee. TJ Bliss reported that 13 students attended the social last evening. He has established a Facebook group to increase networking and communication. His group will present a science journal club talk during the big Faculty Development Day. He also hopes to contact colleges and universities around Denver to draw more students to next year's conference. If funding can be obtained, they hope to have some small travel awards.
- 9. Ad Hoc Undergraduate Biology Program Guidelines. Ann Lumsden reported that the guidelines had been finalized after input from the Board. AIBS reviewed them, so the committee must review any potential changes. The committee will meet and make decisions electronically, realizing that these guidelines will likely be continually updated as conditions change. Ann agreed to email the guidelines as an attachment to section members.

# VII. New Business

- A. The Section Executive Committee has established an *ad hoc* First-Year Undergraduate Biology Committee. Eileen Gregory and John Moore completed a survey on content for majors biology courses, but are wrestling with the problems of too much content, inability to mesh with upper-level courses, etc. They brainstormed ways to select best topics in a two-semester sequence. They also surveyed people at the AP Bio reading last summer about topics to put into a 28-week sequence, with one week for each topic. The committee is attempting to attract members, clean up their survey, and get much greater input from a larger number of people. This would be useful information for professors.
- B. A standing Graduate Student Committee was approved by the Executive Committee to replace the *ad hoc* committee whose term is limited. A motion was requested to amend Section By-Laws to establish this committee; the motion was made by Jean DeSaix (second by Terry Hufford). This committee was established by unanimous voice vote of the membership.

- C. Eileen Gregory was put forward as 2009 Secretary/Treasurer by the Nominating Committee. No nominations were presented from the floor. Her nomination was approved unanimously.
- D. Bill Rogers reminded all that the committees meet at 7:15 AM in the Natchez Room tomorrow to do the work of the Section. Bill also noted that the '2Y Strand' was the theme at this year's convention; our Four-Year Section will be the strand for next year.

VIII. Teddie Philipson-Mower was introduced (in her absence) as the 2009 Section President, with hopes that everyone meets her tomorrow at the working sessions. The meeting was adjourned at 8:20 so members could attend the development day.

Respectfully submitted

William K. Kroen Secretary/Treasurer 2007–8